Waiting for Music

Simon Mundy



Publication date: 28 July 2021

ISBN: 9781913724436



Waiting for Music is the fifth collection of poetry from the acclaimed writer Simon Mundy. A great champion of the arts, his relationships with musicians, visual artists and dancers are the main driving force behind his poetry, and this book sets out a playlist of poems inspired by music – from the classic strains of Brahms’ piano works to a soprano’s solo by Roxana Panufnik which never came into being (itself inspired by a 16th-century portrait). 

Published after a year spent waiting for music to appear on our landscape once more, Waiting for Music collects the voices of an array of composers, cultures and forms, set against backdrops ranging from Valparaiso to the Veneto, and celebrates the depth of talent and sound that has been missing from our lives this last year.

Simon Mundy

Simon Mundy is a poet and champion of the arts. His writing includes biographies, novels, non-fiction, playscripts and poetry. Waiting for Music is his fifth poetry collection.