An Introduction to the History of Women’s Suffrage

Susan B. Anthony



Publication date: 19 December 2021

ISBN: 9781913724641




In 1881, three writers and rights activists, Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Matilda Joslyn Gage, came together to publish the first volume in their groundbreaking History of Woman Suffrage series – a series that eventually went on to fill 5700 pages and lend weight to a movement that changed the course of history for ever.

Taking its dedication from the first volume of the History – to the memory of pioneering women whose ‘earnest lives and fearless words… have been, in the preparation of these pages, a constant inspiration’ – this volume collects together three essays that give an insight into the work as a whole, and provide a rounded introduction to the history of women’s suffrage.

Susan B. Anthony

Susan B. Anthony (1820–1906) was a writer and activist who was pivotal in the women’s suffrage movement in America, best remembered today for the six-volume encyclopaedia series she produced in collaboration with Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Matilda Joslyn Gage and Ida Husted Harper, History of Woman Suffrage.